Match report: Yorkshire Carnegie 27 Doncaster Knights 20

Knight's Tyson Lewis is held by Jonah Holmes
Knight's Tyson Lewis is held by Jonah Holmes

Doncaster Knights had to settle for a losing bonus point when going down 27-20 in last night’s Championship derby against leaders Yorkshire Carnegie at Headingley.

No 8 Ollie Stedman capped an impressive display with a late try which Dougie Flockhart converted to avoid his side leaving empty-handed.

Knights got off to a flying start – wing Sam Edgerley capitalising on a knock-on by his opposite number Christian Georgiou to score an unconverted try after hacking the ball on.

Knights – who also defended well – continued to look the better side in possession and it was against the run of play when Carnegie opened their account with a 14th penalty by fly-half Harry Leonard.

Leonard edged the home side in front with a penalty following dissent but the visitors deservedly regained the lead when charging down an attempted clearance kick by Leonard close to his line with centre Mat Clark, who could have scored himself, putting Edgerley over for a second unconverted try.

Michael Heaney also missed out on the chance to extend Doncaster’s lead with a long-range penalty just before the break.

Carnegie had failed to score a try in the first half for the first time this season but flanker Josh Bainbridge bagged a brace of converted touchdowns from forward drives by flanker Josh Bainbridge in the third quarter to open up a 20-10 lead.

Flockhart, one of three changes at the break, closed the gap with a 61st minute penalty but No 8 Ryan Burrows capitalised on Carnegie’s scrum dominance to score a third converted try in the last ten minutes to make it 27-13.

Yorkshire Carnegie: Holmes; Stegman, Forsyth, Fitzpatrick, Georgiou; Leonard, Pilgrim; Beech, Nilsen, O’Donnell, Schofield, Jones, Myerscough, Bainbridge, Burrows. Rep: Walker, Capps, Black, Ryder, Barnard, Hodson, Lucock.

Doncaster Knights: Jarvis; Edgerley, Clark, Hurrell, Lewis; Heaney, Field; List, Stagg, Quigley, Challoner, Phelan, Makaafi, Hills, Stedman. Rep: Bergmanas, Sprotson, John, Shaw, Young, Flockhart, Bryant.