Sykehouse’s survival hopes aided by big win


BOTTOM team Sykehouse kept alive their hopes of avoiding relegation from Division Three of the Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Three by collecting maximum points for only the second time this season with a 10-wicket success at Hensall.

Peter Sanders (4-4), Richard Munro (3-8) and Phil Sanders (1-7) routed 10-man Hensall for 21, the division’s lowest score this season.

Sykehouse openers Andy Edwards (14no) and Phil Townsend (8no) knocked off the runs in six overs.

Thorne Colliery were indebted to brothers Carl and Mark Walton for a one-wicket victory at Normanton.

Carl Walton (5-32) toppled Normanton for 113 but Thorne’s reply was in deep trouble at 88-9 before Mark Walton (19no) shared a match-winning last wicket stand of 26 with Craig Reader (3no).

All-rounder Matt Windass helped Fishlake win a thrilling Division One game against Stainborough.

Windass claimed 1-25 off 14 overs as Stainborough posted 210-4.

In reply, Peter Butterworth (70), Windass (60no) and Josh Mason (47) led the way as Fishlake snatched a three-wicket win off the penultimate ball of the match.

Barnby Dun won their first Division Two game for two months by completing a league double over Hemsworth. Jay Horne (5-27) and Adam Wilkinson (4-23) skittled Hemsworth for 77, replying to Barnby’s 215-9 that featured 79 by Scott Walker and 42 from Phil Decent.

Sprotbrough’s promotion hopes faded with a seven-wicket home defeat against Wombwell Main. Kieran Lumley (64) and Andrew Fairclough (35) top-scored in Sprotbrough’s 132 which Wombwell comfortably overhauled, despite Callum Honeyman’s 2-14.

Askern climbed to fifth place by trouncing Whitley Bridge. Rhys Gibbon (68), Jeff Morton (57), Andrew O’Grady (48) and Dean Smith (32) guided Askern to 250-6 and David Longley (4-27), Andrew Lunn (3-30) and Gareth Williams (2-13) kept Whitley’s reply at 138-9.

Hatfield Town’s slump continued when they lost at Thurnscoe Institute. Luke Harper (61) and John Cook (55) steered Thurnscoe to 219 and Don Whitehurst (4-26) helped bowl out Hatfield for 160 in reply.

Brodsworth Main moved closer to clinching promotion from Division Four by beating Bullcroft Main. Karl Buxton (61) steered Brodsworth to 173 and Mick Cassinelli (5-43) limited Bullcroft’s reply to 91-9. Dean Booker (5-44) was Bullcroft’s best performer.

Peglers’ promotion hopes ended with a two-wicket defeat against Monk Bretton A. Matthew Smith (6-15) was Bentley Colliery’s match-winner as they eased their relegation worries by beating bottom side Newton Hill but Fishlake A remain in trouble after being routed for 88 in a six-wicket loss against fellow strugglers Stainborough A. In Division Five, Sprotbrough A won by four wickets at bottom side Darton A. Hatfield A beat Division Six rivals Wakefield Thornes by 110 runs.