Sprotbrough boost promotion bid after big win

Main chance: Askern batsman Andrew O'Grady and Yorkshire Main wicketkeeper Graham Sykes
Main chance: Askern batsman Andrew O'Grady and Yorkshire Main wicketkeeper Graham Sykes

SPROTBROUGH revived their Pontefract League Division Two promotion bid with a ten-wicket win over lowly Glasshoughton.

Callum Honeyman (4-13), Mike Threapleton (3-13) and Kieran Greening (2-21) routed the Castleford side for 49.

Openers Ben Lyons (25no) and Honeyman (22no) shared an unbroken 52-run stand as Sprotbrough knocked off the runs in 11 overs.

Sprotbrough remain eight points adrift of second-placed Hooton Pagnell who won at Hemsworth.

Barnby Dun lost ground on the front runners when there was no play in their fixture at Thurnscoe.

Askern continued their climb by trouncing Yorkshire Main by 120 runs.

Ashley Towler (60) and Andrew O’Grady (49no) guided Askern to 191-8 and Gareth Williams (5-28), David Longley (3-19) and Josh Gillies (2-21) toppled Main for 71.

Hatfield Town lost by 108 runs at Wombwell Main when Chris Bond (6-10) skittled them for 59.

Fishlake were beaten in a low-scoring Division One match against Frickley Colliery.

Tom Webster (5-26) and Keith Bee (4-50) bowled out Frickley for 128 but Fishlake managed only 96 in reply, despite Josh Mason’s 27.

It was a disappointing weekend for Fishlake because they lost by seven wickets at Old Sharlston in Sunday’s Dyson-Skidmore Trophy semi-final. Steve Johnson (40) top-scored as Fishlake were all out for 106.

Division Three promotion contenders Thorne Colliery bounced back from the previous week’s loss at leaders Knottingley by defeating West Bretton who were kept at 121-9 by James Stewart (2-33), Mazhar Mir (2-36) and Kerry Bissell (2-23).

In reply, openers Mir (68) and Matthew Cockburn (29no) put on 99 as Thorne coasted to a nine-wicket win.

Sykehouse’s fixture at Darton was abandoned because of a waterlogged pitch.

There was also no play in the Division Four matches involving Peglers and Bentley Colliery.

Peglers are 11 points adrift of second-placed Brodsworth Main who beat South Kirkby A by five wickets after Paul Tagg (6-11) routed them for 60.

Fishlake A lost by two runs to leaders Hundhill Hall.

Josh Denby (5-54), Ken Round (2-35) and Michael Robinson (2-32) reduced Hundhill to 102-8 before Sam Malyan (39no) helped put on 50 for the last two wickets.

In reply, Fishlake looked to be coasting when Paul Trimingham (47), Andrew Teasdale (38) and Kevin Pearson (26) led them to 143-5 but they collapsed to 150 all out after losing their last five wickets for just seven runs.

Bullcroft Main’s Darren Birkett (7-16) produced one of Saturday’s best bowling performances in a nine-wicket win at Ryhill.

In Division Five, Adam Wilkinson (5-31) set up Barnby Dun A’s three-wicket success against Garforth.

Sprotbrough A beat Crofton A by six wickets but Thurnscoe A lost by four wickets at Whitley Bridge A.

Craig Pattison (4-30) gave Division Six promotion-chasers Hatfield A the edge against Barnsley.

In Division Seven, Fenwick lost by one wicket to Allerton Bywater A and Askern A were all for just 37 in a five-wicket defeat at Knottingley A.

Brodsworth Main A’s Division Eight title hopes were dented at Garforth.

David Merryweather (4-8) limited Garforth to 86 but Brodsworth were routed 44.

Sykehouse A lost by six wickets to Eggborough Power Station.