South Yorkshire League: Tickhill up to third after Darfield win

editorial image

Tickhill moved into the third and final promotion place in the South Yorkshire League Championship after a comfortable eight wicket win at Darfield.

In doing so the Doncaster outfit became the fifth club to occupy what is fast becoming the ‘hot spot’ of the division.

Tickhill invited their hosts to bat first with good effect as they were three wickets down with only one run on the scoreboard, 36-7 and all out for 65.

Tickhill have arguably the best pace attack in the league and James Stuart (4-16) and Alex Rowland (3-18) played their part in Darfield’s rout.

Lee Blackshaw scored 36 not out as Tickhill eased to victory with eight wickets to spare.

Fourth placed Aston Hall are on equal points with Tickhill after beating struggling Wath at Moor Road by 40 runs.

The visitors batted first and reached an innings total of 186-8.

Joe Barker top scored with 60 and Rob Barlow (3-71) and Sam Whitlam (3-33) took the bowling honours for Wath.

In their reply Wath made painful progress after losing early wickets.

Stumper Jonathan Hays was 53 not out and Shawn Dyson scored 40 in their total of 146-5.

In a competitive match at St Peter’s Drive two teams met who are on the periphery of the promotion chase - Conisbrough and Wickersley Old Village.

Wickersley batted first and the innings was steered by opener Haider Jahangir who compiled a classy 126 before he had to depart.

His innings included 12 fours and seven sixes.

Fellow opener Richard Harrison supported with 56 as the opening pair added 128 for the first wicket.

Shaajhan Younis contributed 38 and Wickersley amassed an impressive total of 271-6.

Conisbrough had lost both openers with the score at 20.

Imran Zafar and Jack Whitaker both contributed 32 before James Duran scored 40.

Conisbrough claimed a point at 210-7. They sit seventh in the table, 13 points adrift of Tickhill.

Mohammad Ilyas took 3-40.

Elsecar ended a run of four consecutive defeats by beating Hallam at Armroyd Lane.

Elsecar batted first and Ainsley Swallow opened with 34 and Scott Jones added 31 but at 160-8 the innings total looked vulnerable.

Pakistani Mohammad Naveed punched an innings of 41 not out in 30 balls to improve the total to 215-9.

New Zealander Matthew Newman bowled well to take 5-45.

Youngster Robert Basu open with 33 and Stuart Menzies added 42 but the total was always out of Hallam’s reach and they eventually succumbed for 167 all out.

Naveed (3-35), Saqib Hussain (3-51) and Scott Jones (3-39) each took three wickets.