South Yorkshire League: Tickhill handed Premier League lifeline

Tickhill's Steve Reid
Tickhill's Steve Reid

Tickhill have been thrown a late lifeline in their bid to reach the new ECB Yorkshire South Premier League.

The Alderson Drive club’s hopes of playing in next season’s new top tier appeared to be over after two defeats in their last three outings.

But a decision to promote the Championship’s top four - rather than top three as originally planned - has given Tickhill fresh hope ahead of their last game of the season at home to Coal Aston on Saturday.

Another promotion place has become available following the decision of the Bradford League and Central Yorkshire League to merge, and the subsequent decision of Methley, Townville, Wrenthorpe and Altofts to be part of that structure rather than the newly-formed Yorkshire South division.

Wickersley OV currently occupy the fourth promotion spot and, with a seven-point lead over fifth-placed Tickhill, are in pole position to keep it.

But should Tickhill claim maximum points against Coal Aston and Wickersley fail to pick up any points at Elsecar this weekend, Tickhill would be promoted by virtue of the fact they would have won more bonus points than their promotion rivals.

Tickhill would have been in a stronger position had they not lost in agonising fashion to Darfield last weekend.

James and Matthew Kilvington top scored with 45 and 32 respectively as Tickhill struggled to 158 all out in 49 overs.

Steve Reid and Alex Rowland both claimed three wickets but Darfield limped home with one wicket and one over remaining.

Meanwhile, Tickhill B confirmed their promotion from Division Three after beating Darfield B at School Street.

Max Tomkinson was the star of the show, claiming 3-12 with the ball before making 65 not out to help his team to a straightforward seven wicket win.

Sprotbrough require just one point from their final game, at Frecheville Community, to wrap up promotion from Division Two.

Scott Semmens claimed excellent figures of 6-46 to help dismiss Thorncliffe for 160, before Ash Ward (55no) and Jonathan Scaife (75no) guided Sprotbrough to a nine wicket win.

Doncaster Town C have been promoted from Division Five (East).