Marrison steers Bawtry to top of O-60s league

KEITH Huckerby’s 21-8 win enabled Armthorpe to snatch a 178-178 Doncaster BA Saturday League Section B draw at Eden Grove-Pegler and remain unbeaten.

Mick Corby won 21-9 for Carcroft and Ken Sanders by the same score for Rossington in their 183-163 success.

Maureen Forshaw’s 21-8 win for Bawtry counted for nothing as Paul Rice (21-6), Tony Blanchard (21-5) and Gary Stanley (21-4) all won well for Pilkingtons Recreation in their 192-126 Section D win over Bawtry B.

Alan Marrison (21-8) put Bawtry on the way to a win 152-132 Over-60s League Division One win over Askern that sees them top the table.

Nellie Hyner (21-9) and Colin Draper (21-6) performed well in Roundwood’s in 161-117 win over Parklands. Last man Norman Clowes (21-6) secured a 137-132 win for Pilkingtons Recreation at Thorpe Marsh Bentley

Val Cooper won 21-9 in Adwick’s 143-128 Division Two victory over Yorkshire Main.

Rossington’s clean sweep of winners in their 168-100 rout of Brodsworth, included Archie Hughes (21-7), Malcolm Needham (21-8) and Ray Porter (21-9).

Danny Ruffini’s 21-9 win for Eden Grove-Pegler was more than cancelled out by Yorkshire Main B’s Pat Davidson (21-2) in the home side’s 150-140 victory.

Parklands B started their Division Thrre match with a 21-9 win, but Rossington B narrowly won the Division Three clash 145-144 thanks to Ray Greaves (21-8).

Frances Ceaser won 21-7 for Mexborough but finished on the losing side as Jean Birch (21-4) shone for Parklands B in their 149-121 success.

Armthorpe B cleared the first round hurdle in the Bufton Cup with a 77-58 win over Thorne.

Frank Law and Peter Devine (21-8) shone for Rossington B in their 81-56 win over Harvesters.

Phil Stones and Ryan Lysons (21-4) and Mick Corby and Lol Atkinson (21-8) caught the eye for Carcroft in their 84-39 win at Eden Grove-Pegler.

Adwick (rec 33) had good wins from Brian Stubbs (21-7), Harry Oxberry (21-4) and Roy Green (21-8) in their 187-153 Brooke Farm Handicap first round win over Yorkshire Main B (rec 49).

Denaby (rec 23) beat Adwick B (rec 50) 182-143 with wins from Chris Jones (21-8), Martin Scott (21-1), Vic Greenfield (21-7) and Colin Squires (21-7).

Eddie Birdsey won 21-6 for Thorne (rec 46) but Armthorpe B (rec 50) hit back to win 185-166 with good performances from Keith Turton (21-9) and Shirley Keeton (21-4).

Dave Wootton’s 21-9 win was not enough to prevent Pilkingtons Rec B (rec 38) being knocked out 166-152 by Armthorpe (rec 13). Rossington (rec 36) beat Hexthorpe (rec 37) 188-167.

Carcroft (rec 24) progressed into the next round without a problem as with Lol Atkinson (21-3), Jeff Bourke (21-8), Mick Corby (21-2) and Alan Fawley (21-8) all won well in their 192-138 victory over Rossington B (rec 59).