Local cricket: Wickets pitched for a new season

CONISBROUGH will be hoping to continue their impressive ascent when the wickets are pitched for the new South Yorkshire Senior Cricket League season on Saturday.

Last season’s Division Two champions begin life in Division One with an intriguing opening day fixture at Rossington Main.

After finishing as runners up in the Pontefract League’s top flight in 2010, Conisbrough’s success story has continued since they made the switch into the South Yorkshire League.

Former Doncaster Town all-rounder Gary Strephan (pictured left) has been instrumental in the club’s progress, finishing last season with 778 runs at an average of 55.57.

Rossington, who finished fifth in last season’s Division One, have endured a difficult winter.

They have lost the services of Daniel Powell to Wadworth, while they also start the new season with a 14-point deduction after being found guilty of bringing the game into disrepute.

Main will also have to do without the services of Colin Sherrington, Stewart Groves and Michael Richardson after the trio received lengthy bans following an incident at the league’s annual awards night last November.

Rossington pair Dominic McGough and Ashley Knowles, who took 83 wickets between them last season, will be key to their success this time around.

Elsewhere in Division One, Tickhill host Elsecar B having recruited Aaron Haycock and James Crooks from Ordsall Briden.

Fixtures - Saturday

South Yorkshire League Division One: Tickhill v Elsecar B, Rossington Main v Conisbrough.

Division Three: Conisbrough B v Thorpe Hesley, Rotherham Phoenix v Mexborough.

Division Four: Rotherham C v Warmsworth B, Frecheville Community B v Doncaster Town C.