DONCASTER BOWLS: Runners-up joy for Armthorpe

editorial image

ARMTHORPE B clinched the runners-up spot in Division Three of the Doncater Bowls Association’s Midweek League despite good wins from Joan Gabbitus (21-3) and George Cox (21-7) securing Parklands B a 155-113 success.

Thorne celebrated wining the Division Four crown with another win - last man Eddie Birdsey (21-6) rounding off their 164-112 victory at Pilks Rec D.

Mick Cook (21-9) and Peter Devine (21-5) both won well for Rossington B in their 158-117 victory at Parklands D.

Chloe Carrington (21-5) was the best winner for Carcroft B in their 145-137 victory at Harvesters.

Denaby B clinched the Doubles League Division Three title with good wins from Norman Hallatt and Arthur Watson (21-5) and Tommy Jones and Paul McIntyre (21-6).

Malcolm and Sue Tetley (21-8) were the only winning pair for Parklands B in their 71-65 home defeat by Eden Grove -Peglers, for whom Trevor Roper won by the same score.

Piks Rec D beat Division Four rivals Carcroft C 83-36.

Harvestes pipped Tickhill (75-74) by one point.

UNISON B got a good start from Keith Johnson and Jeff Prior (21-7), but Rossington B recovered to take the league runners-up spot by a single point, with Mick Cook and Chris Simpson (21-9) helping them claim a 70-60 wn.

Last pair Bob Sisman and Bob Knibbs won 21-3 for Westfield Park B in their 80-52 victory over Pilks Rec D.