DONCASTER BOWLS: Kershaw in tune for Armthorpe

editorial image

JOE Walton (21-9) stood out for league leaders Denaby in their 191-150 Doncaster Bowls Association Saturday League Section A win over Bawtry.

Geoff Tate (21-8) and Alan Bissell (21-9) had good wins for Roundwood in their 200-149 win over Yorkshire Main.

Thomas Boyd (21-9), Malcolm Fox (21-7), Dave Patrickson senior (21-6) and Martin Wilson (21-5) carded good scores in Woodlands Park’s 202-117 win over Mexborough.

Andy Kershaw (21-5) starred for Armthorpe in their 184-163 Section B win at Maltby Main. Ken Ramsay (21-9) was the match winner for Parklands in their 178-170 victory over Carcroft.

Wins from Carl Sanders (21-7) and Gary Potter (21-9) came too late to save Rossington from a 184-132 defeat after Westfield Park had won the first eight games, including Chris Rout (21-5) and Matt Griffiths (21-4).

Top-of-the-table Adwick enjoyed another big Section C victory (202-142) over Wickersley VC, with Geoff Bratton (21-8) their best winner.

Travey Paton (21-5) and Mick Wainwright (21-8) both performed well in Askern’s 197-145 win over Parklands B.

Kevin Dixon’s 21-5 win proved vital for Brodsworth in their 182-169 victory over Adwick B.

Maltby had good wins from Ross Meese (21-3) and Darren Stevenson (21-6) in their 152-120 Midweek League Division One win at Carcroft, whose Lol Atkinson won 21-9.

Simon Hallas (21-8), Ken Booth (21-9) and Melvin Axe (21-9) did well in Armthorpe’s 156-105 win over Yorkshire Main.

Darren Stevenson (21-7) led the way for Maltby BC in their 166-104 win over Pilks Rec.

Pat Carroll was a 21-9 winner for Parklands in their 148-123 Division Two win over Askern.

A 21-9 win from Janet Dodsworth was enough to give Denaby B a one point victory at Hexthorpe.

Harry Oxberry (21-5) impressed in Adwick’s 164-109 Division Three win over Parklands B. Brian Hardy finished on the losing side despite a 21-5 win for Tickhill as Ron Strutt (21-5) and Matt Griffiths (21-3) shone for Bentley Colliery in their 147-117 success.

Eddie Halpin (21-6) and Richard Commons (21-3) were the best winners in Armthorpe B’s 163-110 win at Carcroft B.