DONCASTER BOWLS: Denaby take the spoils

editorial image

COLIN Squires (21-4) and Chris Jones (21-9) were the pick of Denaby’s winners in their 168-72 Doncaster Bowls Association’s Midweek League Division One win over Woodlands Park B

Darren Stevenson (21-9) and Chris Bytheway (21-8) wrapped up a 163-127 victory for Maltby BC over Carcroft. Dave Patrickson junior (21-6), Adam Morgan (21-7), Graham Fox (21-9) and John Richardson (21-6) all won easily as Woodlands Park beat Yorkshire Main 168-84 to move one point ahead of Maltby at the top of the table, with the title decider being when Maltby visit Woodlands for the last match of the season.

Jackie Fraser, Dave Henson and Simon Hallas all won 21-7 for Armthorpe in their 142-12- victory over Woodlands Park B. Both sides had a 21-4 winner - Eamon Costello for Parklands and Dave Wootton for Pilkingtons Rec B - in the visitors 131-130 Division Two win.

Malcolm Needham’s 21-2 win gave Rossington the match (144-126) despite a 21-6 win from Bawtry’s Ted Owens.Ron Mortlock (21-9), Warwick Buttery (21-6), Barry Tomlinson (21-4) and Neil Gregory (21-7) were all on good form for Thorpe Marsh Bentley in their comfortable 167-04 win over Denaby B.

Graham Garnett (21-9) was the only winner for Westfield Park as Thorpe Marsh did enough to beat the visitors 156-101 and win the league with good scores from Mick Finley (21-5) and Paul Bassindale (21-2).

Eddie Curtis won 21-6 for Askern, but Westfield Park won the match (146-116) with Graham Garnett winning 21-9.

Sue Tetley’s 21-3 win was in vain for Parklands B as Brian Barrett (21-8) and Jade Meehan (21-9) helped secure Armthorpe B a 132-136 Division Three win. Keith Bullock (21-6) caught the eye for Bawtry B in their 150-128 win over Pilkingtons Rec C.

Jim Pickford’s 21-4 win was good enough for Tickhill to win the match 148-135, although last man John Burton (21-7) battled hard for Carcroft B.

Brian Greaves (21-6) was the star man for Thorne in their 167-117 Division Four win over Rossington B. Eric Bubb enjoyed a 21-8 win for Westfield Park B in their 158-127 victory over UNISON B.

Ron Strutt and Terry Atkins won 21-5 for Bentley Colliery, but a 21-6 win from last pair Roy Farmer and Norman Hallatt gave Denaby B a 67-61 Doubles League Division Three win. Neil Thompson won his first match for Armthorpe B, partnering Shirley Keeton to a 21-5 win, in their 73-58 victory over Adwick B. Calum O’Brien and Marie Reilly (21-8) were the only winners for Pilkingtons Rec C as Stan and Joan Job (21-8) and Michael Daniels and Lynn Baxter (21-7) earned Carcroft B a 71-54 victory.