Cricket: Ben Bailey South Yorkshire League Division Five round-up

Luke Thornton
Luke Thornton

Darfield B look destined for the Division Five title after they overwhelmed Rotherham Town C at the Davy McKee ground, writes James Beachill.

Darfield batted first with Mitchell Phillips scoring 88 (13 fours) and Lewis Thorpe chipping in with 78 (eight fours, four sixes) in their total of 259 for 6. Luke Thornton was outstanding for Rotherham C, with five for 34.

In reply Rotherham’s opening partnership put on 55 with youngster Naveed Shah excelling with 37. Thereafter followed five ‘ducks’and Rotherham collapsed to 87 all out. Evan Todd took three for 34 and Ryan Morton enjoyed his day with 4 for 9.

Other results

Phoenix B 124 Kexborough B 126 for 2

At Brinsworth Kexborough B kept their promotion position with a eight wicket win over Phoenix B. Phoenix batted first and top scorer was David judge at number nine with 37 in their total of 124 all out. Tom Lee’s took three for 22 and Craig Brooke four for 27 for the visitors.

Kexborough reached their target thanks to 48 not out from James Cosgrove and 43 from Liam Adams.

Penistone B 252 Worsbrough B 128

Penistone B kept their promotion ambitions with a good win over Worsbrough B at Queen Street. With Brendan Fowler, smashing 16 fours and two sixes in his 86, David Richards being run out for 30 and Tom Richards in at the end to 7 not out, Penistone set the target at 252 all out. Jackson Taylor took three for 75 and Travis Grierson three for 26 for Worsbrough.

The visitors were never in the hunt after skipper Scott Aranyi was out for 66. The innings closed at 128, short by 124 runs. Tom Exley took four for 27.

Sprotbrough B 83 for 0 Warmsworth B 82

At Melton Road, Sprotbrough B had an easy victory over Warmsworth B. Skipper Paul Green top scored with 28 in Warmsworth’s total of 82 all out. The destroyer in chief was youngster Robert Ibbotson with six for 15.

In reply Thomas Pepper (45 not out) and Christopher Graves (31 not out) held their ground to the close as Sprotbrough eased to victory without loss.