All-rounder Mazhar Mir proves a Thorne in Sandal’s side

Howzat: Sprotbrough's Dave Carr has Yorkshire Main's Stephen Lumbley lbw as wicketkeeper Tom Kaye appeals.  Picture: Steve taylor
Howzat: Sprotbrough's Dave Carr has Yorkshire Main's Stephen Lumbley lbw as wicketkeeper Tom Kaye appeals. Picture: Steve taylor

ALL-rounder Mazhar Mir was in top form as Thorne Colliery climbed to second in Pontefract and District League Division Three by inflicting promotion rivals Sandal’s first defeat this season.

Mir bagged 5-25 from 8.2 overs and James Stewart claimed 3-22 in a 14-over spell to rout Sandal for 111.

Openers Matthew Cockburn (13) and Mir gave Thorne’s reply an excellent start by putting on 66.

Mir went on to hit a rapid 71 as Thorne coasted to an eight-wicket win in 22 overs.

Sprotbrough maintained their Division Two promotion bid with their fourth straight league victory.

Ben Lyons (66) led Sprotbrough to a six-wicket win as they overhauled Yorkshire Main’s 141-6.

Barnby Dun revived their challenge by beating Hatfield Town.

Dave Barrett (84no), Scott Walker (38) and Kieron Dinnage (32) guided Barnby to 224-4.

Opener Wayne Silvester’s unbeaten 103 was in vain for Hatfield whose reply fell short when they finished on 183-4 that also included 36 by Andy Cutts.

Thurnscoe moved further away from relegation trouble with a three-wicket victory at Hemsworth.

Don Whitehurst (3-40) limited Hemsworth to 175-7 and Neil Johnson struck 60 inThurnscoe’s winning reply.

Brodsworth Main regained top spot in Division Four with a six-wicket success against Ryhill who were toppled for 101 by Karl Buxton (5-27).

Peglers, aiming to win promotion for the second year running, stepped up their challenge by inflicting Hundhill Hall’s first league defeat.

Tom Borthwick (4-17) skittled Hundhill for 74, replying to Peglers’ 207-8 that featured 85 by Ashley Langdale.

Steve Denton’s unbeaten 72 guided Bullcroft Main to 161-7 at Fishlake A who managed only 137-6 in reply, despite Andy Teasdale’s 46.

Barnby Dun A and Sprotbrough A both lost in Division Five.

Barnby were beaten by 43 runs by Notton and Sprotbrough were routed for 81, chasing Featherstone A’s 178-6.

In Division Seven Fenwick defeated joint leaders Pollington by 61 runs.

Richard Randall (72no) led Fenwick to 168-7 and Ben Randall snapped up 4-25 as Pollington were bowled out for 107.

All-rounder David Merryweather was outstanding for Division Eight promotion-chasers Brodsworth Main A as they crushed Ryhill A.

Merryweather hit 77 and Alex Snaith 53 as Brodsworth posted 212-5. Merryweather then claimed 4-31 to send Ryhill’s reply collapsing to 119 all out. Peglers A lost by 29 runs to Nostell A.

Thurnscoe A host Rothwell A in the Heywood-Williams Trophy quarterfinals on July 8 after beating Hooton Pagnell A by two wickets on Sunday.

Alex Goddard (63) and Ryan Atkinson (4-18) were Thurnscoe’s match-winners.