A champion showing by title-winners Carcroft

editorial image

CARCROFT Village lifted the Thursday Ladies Darts League championship trophy at the league’s presentation evening at Woodlands Park.

They also picked up the Secretary’s Cup, beating league runners-up Park Social.

Park Social took the honours in the Five-a-side Cup, beating West End in the final. They also won the Three-a-side Cup when gaining their revenge over Carcroft in the final.

Park Social also finished runners-up to Rhino’s in the 4-2-1 Cup. Rhino’s also won the Seven-a-side Trophy, beating West End in the final.

Park Social’s Joyce Abott took the honours in the singles final after beating Jet’s Debbie Carey.

Rhino’s pairing Debbie Maddison and Angela Lunn saw off the challenge of York Bar’s Sharon Drake and Linda Tierney to claim the doubles title.

Co-op’s Jenny Derx hit the bullsye in the Over-50s singles final, pipping Ami Moss (Rhino’s).

West End’s Emma Wood beat Park’s Joyce Abbott in the Over-60s final.

Debbie Redmile got the better of West End’s Becky Kirkbride in the Under-30s final. Sharon Drake (York Bar) came out on top in her Over-30s final against Debbie Carey (Jet). Becky Kirkbride, Elizabeth Barnes and Alma Wallace shared the honours in the 180 Trophy.

Elaine Price (Carcroft Village) recorded the highest check-out (106) of the season. Elizabeth Barnes (seven) won the Least Set Trophy.

The league are looking for both new teams and new players to strengthen the squads of existing teams before the start of next season.

“We are looking for new teams from around the North Doncaster area,” said secretary Cynthia Bunting.”