It’s Ellor-mentary

editorial image
Share this article

Denaby United’s hopes of reaching the Premier Division received a boost after a 7-0 demolition of second-placed Bramley Sunnyside.

Denaby, who went down 3-1 in the reverse fixture between the two sides, were indebted to striker Steve Ellor, who scored four of his side’s goals.

Perhaps surprisingly for such a hammering, Denaby didn’t open the scoring until the 20th minute when Ellor smashed home from Ross Petty’s through-ball.

United were in the mood now, however, and doubled their lead two minutes later when Enzo Guarini scored, after Neil Spruce’s shot was cleared off the line.

The score remained 2-0 at half time, but Denaby ran riot in the second half and added five more goals.

Spruce made up for his earlier disappointment to put Denaby 3-0 up five minutes into the second period, and it was four 15 minutes later when Spruce crossed to Ellor, who rounded the goalkeeper and eased the ball into the net.

Ellor completed his hat-trick after 73 minutes with a left-foot strike from 15 yards, making it 5-0, and he netted his fourth ten minutes before the end when he beat the offside trap and slotted home.

Substitute James Lundy rounded off a comprehensive win for United, who travel to table toppers Shafton Villa on Saturday.


Premier Division: Shafton Villa 2 (Adam Fretwell, Andy Lowe) Hemsworth Town 0.

Division One: Bawtry Town Res 1 (Matt Wilson) Harworth Colliery 3; Dunscroft United 3 (Kieron Sanderson, James Hindson, Carl Grant) Rovers Foundation 0; South Kirkby Town 0 Denaby Main 5 (Ryan Oakley 2, Ainsley Finney, Wayne McSeveney, own goal); Swinton Athletic 2 (David England, Martin Rouane) Scawthorpe Scorpions 2 (Lee Bullock, Ben Wilkinson); Westwoodside Rangers 2 (Myles Whitehead, Owen McCaughey), ISG Doncaster 0.

Sheffield Trophy Centre Challenge Cup: FC Central 5 Bawtry Town 3 (aet); Kinsley Boys 2 (Sean Hammonds, Reece Hicks) Hemsworth MW 3 (Lee Carrington, Nigel Beardow, James Gillespie, aet); South Elmsall United Services 3 (James Shakespeare, Paul Smith, David Blake) Ackworth United 1 (James Winder).