Full-time: Barnsley 0 Crawley Town 1

Barnsley's Connor Hourihane in action against Crawley Town.
Barnsley's Connor Hourihane in action against Crawley Town.

Dale Jennings was sent off on the opening day for a second successive season as furious Barnsley lost 1-0 at home to Crawley Town on their return to League One.

Izale McLeod’s 81st minute header gave Crawley victory at Oakwell after Barnsley were forced to play the final 28 minutes with 10 men following Jennings’ controversial dismissal.

Barnsley force a corner against Crawley Town.

Barnsley force a corner against Crawley Town.

The former Bayern Munich man retaliated to a foul by Crawley’s Gwion Edwards, but there was disbelief around Oakwell as referee Jeremy Simpson deemed the minor scuffle worthy of a red card.

Early on McLeod had seen an angled shot saved by Barnsley’s debutant keeper Adam Davies, before Conor Henderson fired a dipping volley over the bar.

McLeod went close again for the visitors when he headed just wide from a right-wing cross, while Sam Winnall’s effort at the other end comfortably cleared the bar.

Josh Simpson struck the foot of the post with a low shot for Crawley in the closing stages of the first half, before Jennings’ curling effort was kept out by a fine save from visiting keeper Brian Jensen.

After the interval Conor Hourihane’s left-foot shot from distance was saved by Jensen, before the Dane was again on hand to deny Sam Winnall.

It was Jennings who again came closest to scoring when he headed just wide from Reece Brown’s cross, but the former Bayern Munich man was then dismissed for tangling with Edwards.

Barnsley brought on Keith Treacy for his debut but Crawley broke the deadlock nine minutes from time when McLeod headed in unmarked from Henderson’s corner.

Barnsley: Davies, Brown, Cranie, Nyatanga, Dudgeon, Berry, (Boake-Yiadom), Bailey, Hourihane, Jennings, Rose (Treacy 66), Winnall.

Subs not used: Dibble, Digby, M’voto, Abbott,Bree.

Crawley: Jensen, Oyebanjo, Leacock, Walsh, Dickson, Young (Banya 56), Smith, Henderson, Edwards, Simpson (Bawling 46), McLeod.

Subs not used: Spiegel, Bradley, Banya, Rose, Tomlin, O’Connor.