DONCASTER KNIGHTS: Tiger Symons set for debut at Nottingham

editorial image

LEICESTER Tigers centre Andy Symons will make his Knights debut at Nottingham on Sunday after penning dual registration terms.

Symons has joined on similar terms to those of Kieran Brookes who managed just one game for the Knights before returning to Welford Road.

And the 21-year-old will go straight into the starting XV for the tough clash with Nottingham at Meadow Lane, replacing Will Simpson.

Sunday’s clash is seen as the last game of the old set up at the Knights before Clive Griffiths takes charge full time.

Griffiths has spent much of the week with the Canada national team preparing for their game with the Maori All Blacks at Oxford University on Saturday.

He has however spent time with the Knights squad this week and will be involved on Sunday.

Griffiths said: He said: “What a game to have as your first one back, it doesn’t get much tougher.

“People I’ve talked to at other clubs in the Championship have said Nottingham are on fire.

“I was quick to thank them for that piece of information.

“We’ll go there, have a real good go at them and see what comes of it.”

The clash also sees the two sides contest the Robin Hood Shield playing on a supposed rivalry between Nottinghamshire and Yorkshire – intensified by Doncaster’s Robin Hood Airport – for claim of the legendary outlaw.

The existing Knights coaching set up headed by Brett Davey has selected the team which they hope can repeat last month’s British and Irish Cup win at Nottingham and bring back the Shield.

Davey has had to deal with the loss of Tom Luke who suffered a broken jaw in the defeat to Bedford Blues.

Jamie Lennard has moved to fly half with Dante Mama switching to the preferred position of full back he played in for the Championship XV last weekend.

Louis Silver has recovered from injury and will return at scrum half in place of Chris Hallam.

And Jethro Rawling is back from suspension in place of David Bradford.

Knights side to face Nottingham: 15 Dante Mama; 14 Dougie Flockhart; 13 James Tincknell; 12 Andy Symons; 11 Tyson Lewis; 10 Jamie Lennard; 9 Louis Silver; 1 Tom Davies; 2 Rhys Buckley; 3 Tomas Francis; 4 Matt Challinor; 5 Dominic Parsons; 6 Adam Kettle; 7 Jethro Rawling; 8 Chris Planchant.

Replacements: 16 Ben Sowery; 17 Brian McGovern; 18 Andy Brown; 19 Phil Hoy; 20 Andy Boyde; 21 Chris Hallam; 22 Tom Barrett.