TITANS: Rotherham make six changes for Jersey clash as they look to halt poor run of results

Rotherham Titans have made six changes for their clash with play-off chasing Jersey Reds as they look to end a run of four Championship defeats.

Friday, 17th March 2017, 10:55 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:09 am
Titans coach Justin Burnell

Two changes come in the backline - fly half Lee Millar starts in place of the injured Charlie Foley (broken hand), whilst in the centres Jack Hayes' return sees Callum Wilson move out on to the wing for Tom Collins.

In the pack Toby Williams and Santi Socino come into the front row for Tom Williams and Luke Cole, in the second row Toby Salmon returns for the suspended Miles Normandale and James Tyas gets the nod at No.8 over Lewis Ludlam.

Ricky Cano, signed for the rest of the season from National League 2 South side Chinnor, could make his debut from the bench.

Coach Justin Burnell said: "Jersey are a big, physical team who have had some good results of late. However, we did beat them at home and we did match their physicality and that's the big thing for us. We've got a good set piece and our scrum is a powerful aspect of our game.

"The boys are working their socks off and constantly trying to improve, they are still making a few mistakes but being inexperienced at this level that will happen. We know Jersey are a good side, but the boys are up for the challenge.”

Titans have won just four of their 17 Championship games so far and, although there's no relegation this season, sit just a point off the bottom of the table.

Jersey head coach Harvey Biljon makes three changes from last Friday's convincing B&I quarter-final win over Cornish Pirates. Joe Buckle is back at hooker, Kieran Hardy recovers from injury to start at scrum-half and Rich Lane returns after five months out with injury.

Titans v Jersey: 15 Will Thomas, 14 Ben Foley, 13 Jack Hayes, 12 Will Owen (Capt.), 11 Callum Wilson, 10 Lee Millar, 9 Connor Murphy, 1 Toby Williams, 2 Santi Socino, 3 Joe Rees, 4 Toby Salmon, 5 Oli Curry, 6 Tom Calladine, 7 Charlie Maddison, 8 James Tyas. Replacements: 16 Luke Cole, 17 Ricky Cano, 18 Ian Williams, 19 Buster Lawrence, 20 Joe Barker, 21 George Tresidder, 22 Caolan Ryan.