Rotherham Titans make changes ahead of Ealing Trailfinders match

Rotherham Titans go into round 18 of the Greene King IPA Championship on Saturday, ready to face a tough home test against play-off hopefuls Ealing Trailfinders; (2pm.)

Friday, 3rd March 2017, 11:56 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 9:46 am
Rotherham Titans

Following last week’s at Cornish Pirates, they will be eager to return to winning ways.

Titans will make three changes to their starting XV, two in the backline. Ben Foley returns on the wing as Will Thomas moves to full back for the injured Will Goodwin, whilst Charlie Foley returns following a four month absence with a shoulder injury; he comes at fly half for Lee Millar.

In the pack Tom Williams come in at loose head for Toby Williams who drops to the bench.

Titans Justin Burnell said: “We were disappointed with the Cornish Pirates result, but what we weren’t disappointed with was the effort and endeavour the boys put in. However, in this league, effort and endeavour alone is not enough and we got punish by a decent Pirates side.

“This week the boys have worked hard and trained well ahead of what we know will be another tough test against Ealing Trailfinders.

“Following what was a disappointing league finish for them last season when they finished eleventh, they have this year invested heavily in their playing squad and they’ve brought in some real quality. They are a well-rounded side who perform well at the set piece, are combative at the contact area and their backline offers real threat going forward.

“So we’re aware what a good side they are, as they wouldn’t be where they are in the table if they weren’t. But for me it’s all about us and we’ll be totally focusing on ourselves and what we want to do in the game.”

Titans: 15 Will Thomas, 14 Ben Foley, 13 Callum Wilson, 12 Will Owen (Capt.), 11 Tom Collins, 10 Charlie Foley, 9 Connor Murphy, 1 Tom Williams, 2 Luke Cole, 3 Joe Rees, 4 Miles Normandale, 5 Oli Curry, 6 Tom Calladine, 7 Charlie Maddison, 8 Lewis Ludlam.

Replacements: 16 Joe Graham, 17 Toby Williams, 18 Danny Herriott, 19 Darren Oliver, 20 Tom MacDonald, 21 Matt Walsh, 22 Caolan Ryan.