Pet Shop Boys return with new album

Pet Shop Boys
Pet Shop Boys

Pet Shop Boys are set to release a brand new album, ‘Elysium’, on September 17.

Recorded in Los Angeles, the album was co-produced by Pet Shop Boys and engineer/producer, Andrew Dawson, who has won three Grammy awards for his work with Kanye West.

Elysium was recorded earlier this year during the three months Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe spent in Los Angeles.

Producer Andrew Dawson recently said:

“It was really exciting for me to work with Pet Shop Boys - the breadth of their career has been phenomenal. They both have incredible ideas and I’ve definitely learned a few tricks from them on making records”.

Pet Shop Boys added;

“We wanted to make this album in a different environment. Despite frequent visits there we have never made an album in Los Angeles. Working there with Andrew Dawson has enabled us to make a very fresh-sounding album.”

Elysium features twelve new songs which display a warm, deep electronic sound, and includes orchestral arrangements by Joachim Horsley, Andrew Dawson and Ben Leathers. Backing vocals are provided on many of the tracks by veteran singers Oren, Maxine and Julie Waters (whose long career spans sessions with The Jackson Five to Adele), and singer/songwriter James Fauntleroy.

The album will be available in standard CD, digital download, and limited edition double-CD (where the bonus disc contains an instrumental mix of the album) formats. The album has also received special mastering for the iTunes version. A sneak peek of the album track “Invisible” may be viewed as a short film by renowned artist/filmmaker Brian Bress at Pet Shop Boys or on VEVO.

The first single from the album, “Winner”, will be released on August 6 as a four track CD single, plus 2 x digital bundles (including bonus tracks & remixes (NB the single is available now via iTunes).

Pet Shop Boys