Doncaster child sexual exploitation workers shortlisted for award

Three Doncaster workers have been shortlisted in a national award for their work in helping to tackle child sexual exploitation (CSE) in Doncaster.

Thursday, 16th March 2017, 11:02 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:55 am

Jayne Pezzulo, who works for Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust (RDaSH), together with Wendy Mason and Carmel Bartlett who both work for Doncaster Children’s Services Trust have been shortlisted as finalists in the National Working Group (NWG) awards.

The aim of the awards is to recognise and reward individuals or teams who have made significant, on-going contribution to tackling child sexual exploitation.

Jayne, Wendy and Carmel, work in the Doncaster multi-agency CSE Team. The team’s role is to make the borough’s residents and children aware of CSE to help prevent it, to protect the town’s children from CSE and if it does take place, to help pursue the offenders. It is the third time they have been shortlisted in this award for the delivery of education and training to a wide audience of young people, parents and professionals. The awareness has been delivered in schools, at Doncaster airport, to taxi drivers, railway staff, faith groups and they have also delivered outreach sessions in the community.

Christina Harrison, of RDaSH, said: “It’s fantastic that Jayne, Wendy and Carmel are shortlisted in this award. It’s a real credit to them and highlights the hard work they do helping to raise the profile of CSE and making people aware of the signs and symptoms to look out for and the action they can take.”

Paul Moffat, chief executive of Doncaster Children’s Services Trust, said: “We are thrilled for the third year in a row Carmel, Wendy and Jayne’s hard work has been recognised nationally. Their work has been vital in raising awareness of CSE with young people in school and most importantly about what young people can do if they have any concerns about a friend.”

Jayne, Wendy and Carmel will travel to the awards ceremony in Nottingham on March 21.