Conservatives increase majority in Goole and Brigg

Andrew Percy MP.
Andrew Percy MP.

Andrew Percy the Conservative party candidate for Goole and Brigg has retained his seat with an increased majority winning 53 per cent of the vote.

Mr Percy won 22,946 votes ahead of Labour’s Jacky Crawford who received 11,770 - 27.2 per cent of the vote.

Speaking after the results were announced Mr Percy, who increased his majority from 5,000 to 11,000, thanked his constituents for re-electing him.

He told the Epworth Bells: “I’m just delighted and deeply humbled to have been re-elected by the people of Goole and Brigg with such a majority.

“I’m very humbled by it, if I’m honest.

“I’m very proud of my team which has worked so hard and I’m thankful to all my constituents.”

Speaking about the national picture for the Conservative party, Mr Percy said: “It has been a good night for the party.”

He said he would return to London next week and continue to campaign on local issues.

He said: “We want broadband in the Isle of Axholme and the new leisure centre at Crowle and I will also be campaigning on flood defences.

“If I agree with the government I will vote with them and if not I’ll vote against. I will continue to represent my constituents like I have done for the last five years.”

The results were announced just after 5.30am this morning.

In third place was UKIP’s David Jeffreys with 6.694 votes, followed by Natalie Hurst of the Green party on 915.

In fifth place was Liberal Democrat Liz Leffman, with 764 votes followed by Independent Trevor Dixon - 153 and Ray Spadding of Independence from Europe - 28.

A North Lincolnshire Council spokeswoman said the council had issued around 26,000 postal ballot papers and turn out for Scunthorpe was 57.8 per cent, 37,019 votes.

The turnout for Goole and Brigg was 63.2 per cent.

A total of 72 people took part in the mammoth task of counting the votes.

The parliamentary count took place first following verification of ballot papers.

The count for the North Lincolnshire Council elections starts at 12 noon today with the first declaration expected at around 2pm.

That will be followed by the town and parish council election count starting soon after with declarations at around 5pm.

The number of people on the register eligible to vote in the local elections is 130,457 and for the parliamentary election was 126,727.

The parliamentary figure is lower because those electors who are from the EU are not eligible to vote in the General Election, but can vote in the local elections.