Main go down despite fine form of Miller and Hathaway


YORKSHIRE Main were relegated from Pontefract and District League Division Two when they lost by 67 runs at Barnby Dun on the final day.

Main finished five points adrift of third bottom Whitley Bridge who avoided the drop by beating Hatfield Town.

Mark Nurse (5-48) and Stuart McPhee (3-5) toppled Main for 138, replying to Barnby’s 205 that included 51 by Kieron Dinnage and 43 from Jay Horne.

Main’s defeat was tough on Richard Miller (40) and Tom Hathaway (4-50).

Jonathan Holmes (47), Malc Griffin (32) and Chris Stothard (3-36) were Hatfield’s best performers in a four-wicket defeat at Whitley.

Sprotbrough ended on a high note, beating promoted Hooton Pagnell by five wickets.

Ben Lyons (76), Callum Honeyman (47), Kieran Lumley (28no) and Mike Threapleton (21no) steered Sprotbrough to victory after Callum Honeyman (2-19 from nine overs) limited Hooton to 203-6 that featured 85 by Charlie Kaye.

Dean Smith hit a match-winning 93 in Askern’s three-wicket victory at Thurnscoe, for whom Luke Harper top-scored with 82.

Fishlake finished fifth in Division One after winning a low-scoring match against championship runners up Ackworth. Peter Butterworth (41) guided Fishlake to 121 and Windass (5-47) routed Ackworth for 107.

Sykehouse’s 52-run win at bottom side Ackworth A failed to save them from relegation in Division Three. Third bottom Allerton Bywater survived with a 25-run win against Thorne Colliery.

Mazhar Mir (4-36) and Robin Stewart (3-32) bowled out Allerton for 129 but Thorne managed only 104 in reply, despite Mark Walton’s 49.

Kevin Pearson (57no) and Andrew Teasdale (54no) were outstanding as Fishlake A avoided relegation in Division Four with an eight-wicket win at Bentley Colliery (Dale Cox 64no).

Bullcroft lost by four runs to Monk Bretton A, despite Steve Denton’s 5-35 and Mark Gelder’s half-century. Peglers were skittled for 93, chasing promoted Brodsworth Main’s 221-9. In Division Five, Barnby Dun A lost by five wickets at Featherstone A and Tom Pepper’s 41 was in vain for Sprotbrough A in a five-wicket defeat at Old Sharlston A.

Richard Randall (68) and Stuart Carrick (45) top-scored in Fenwick’s four-wicket Division Seven defeat at Knottingley A.

Division Eight champions Brodsworth Main A finished in style by trouncing Peglers A. Joe Warren (5-21) routed Peglers for 59 after David Merryweather (88) had steered Brodsworth to 170-7.