Bytheway is Maltby star

editorial image

WOODLANDS Park boosted their Doncaster Bowls Association Midweek League Division One title hopes with a 159-114 win at Carcroft.

Andy Jones (21-4) and John Richardson (21-8) both starred for the visitors.

Jonathan Sneddon and Ross Meese both won 21-9 for Maltby, with Chris Bytheway (21-5) doing even better in their 160-101 win over Denaby.

Craig Rumney (21-8) stood out for Pilkingtons Recreation in their 158-136 win over Carcroft.

Unison posted a 154-141 win over Armthorpe.

Keith Dawson (21-6) gave Yorkshire Main the lead, but a 21-7 win from Pete Charnley saw Woodlands Park B come back to win 146-136.

Armthorpe were in front after Simon Hallas won 21-9, but a strong finish from Denaby saw Colin Squires (21-5) and Sid Price (21-4) give the home side a 148-130 victory.

Paul Morgan (21-2) was on top form for Woodlands Park in their 155-122 win at Yorkshire Main.

Tommy Collings and Dennis Reilly were both 21-5 winners in Askern’s 153-122 Division Two win over Pilks Rec B.

Barry Binks (21-4) provided the only bright spot for Bawtry as Terry Walton (21-7), Arthur Watson (21-8) and Norman Whittaker (21-1) all shone in Denaby B’s 151-103 win.

Stewart Allen’s 21-9 win was not enough for Rossington as Lloyd Bunting (21-4) won the match (130-126) for Eden Grove-Pegler.

Barry Tomlinson (21-4) and Warwick Buttery (21-7) both performed well for Thorpe Marsh Bentley in their 147-125 win over Parklands, for whom Pat Carroll won 21-8.

Pilks Rec B beat visiting Thorpe Marsh Bentley 144-138.

Wins from Graham Garnett (21-7) and Andy McIntosh (21-9) couldn’t stop Eden Grove-Pegler completing the double over league leaders Westfield Park, with Denise Green (21-7) starring for the home side in their narrow 135-132 win.

Pilkington Rec B beat visiting Denaby 160-131.

A 21-2 win from Mick Finley was the mainstay of Thorpe Marsh Bentley’s 154-133 victory at Rossington

Pilks Rec C started and finished their 165-114 Division Three win over Bentley with 21-9 wins from Paul Rumney and Dave Thornton.

Tickhill’s only win in their 156-101 defeat at Armthorpe B, came from Brian Hardy (21-9) as Ged Lewis (21-3) and Brian Cook (21-8) showed up well for the home side.

Geoff Bratton (21-8) was Adwick’s match winner, while Paddy Moyles (21-9) fought valiantly for Bawtry B, beaten 141-130. Yorkshire Main B sneaked a 144-147 win at Carcroft B.

Eric Day (21-8) and Frank Glover (21-7) both performed well for Yorkshire Main B in their 146-127 win over Bawtry B.

Keith Wright (21-6) was Westfield Park B’s solitary winner as Maurice Mortlock (21-7), Irene Fletcher (21-4), Bill Fletcher (21-6) and Carol Raven (21-1) all won easily for Adwick B in their 153-70 Doncaster Bowls Association Midweek League Division Four victory over Westfield Park B.

Shirley Woolley (21-5), Bill Mahon (21-7), Lou Walker (21-8) and Enoch Walker (21-7) all recorded good wins for Brodsworth. in their 156-103 derby win over Carcroft C.

Walter Barnett won 21-7 for Harvesters, but Rossington B won the match (143-104) thanks to Jack Brown (21-4) and Roy Thompson (21-5).

Gil Grinney and Eddie Birdsey both won 21-7 to put Thorne on the way to a 154-114 victory over UNISON B.

Hexthorpe B chalked up a 146-142 win over Brodsworth.

Carol Raven (21-5) and Alvin Langham (21-8) won the match (137-119) for Adwick B with UNISON B’s best result coming from George Craven (21-9).

Six-man Westfield Park B had good wins from Eric Bubb (21-8), Jo Bubb (21-6) and Keith Wright (21-9), but it was not enough to stave off a 123- 113 defeat at home to Rossington B.