Full Time report: Leyton Orient 0 Barnsley 0

Martin Cranie heads with Darius Henderson.
Martin Cranie heads with Darius Henderson.

Barnsley’s winning run under Lee Johnson came to an end at the Matchroom Stadium, but the Reds remain unbeaten since the new man took over after a goalless draw against Leyton Orient.

The Reds had Adam Davies to thank for maintaining that record as he pulled off a number of fine saves and in the final couple of minutes they had to play with ten men after Milan Lalkovic was given a straight red card.

Neither defence was under too much pressure in the early stages of the first half, though Lewin Nyatanga almost caused some embarassment on 15 minutes when his clearance was sliced and went a little too close to his own goal for comfort.

Darius Henderson headed wide for the home side on 26 minutes and ten minutes later Jobi McAnuff saw his shot parried away by Adam Davies in the Reds’ goal.

Barnsley pressed but they found the Orient backline hard to break down.

After the break Orient were denied by a brilliant save by Davies as Chris Dagnall nodded down to Ryan Hedges but the Barnsley stopper made a great save.

Then it was Orient keeper Alex Cisak’s turn to show his class as he parried away a rasping drive from Conor Hourihane.

With 20 minutes remaining Barnsley again had Davies to thank for keeping them level as this time Bradley Pritchard was denied by the keeper.

With time running out Milan Lalkovic was given a straight red for a late challenge on Nathan Clarke.

Team News

Popular striker Sam Winnall was back in Barnsley’s starting line-up.

The Reds’ bid to secure their seventh straight league win for the first time since 1955 would be sorely tested at the Matchroom Stadium as manager Lee Johnson appeared to revert to straight-forward 4-4-2 formation.

Winnall got the nod to partner George Waring up front, while Milan Lalkovic dropped out of the midfield and onto the substitutes’ bench.

This was Barnsley’s first away trip to Leyton Orient since 1982.

Orient: Cisak, O’Neill, Clarke, Cuthbert, Dossena, McAnuff, Pritchard, Wright, Hedges, Dagnall, Henderson.

Subs: Omozusi, Sawyer, Cox, Simpson, Mooney, Lowry, Woods.

Barnsley: Davies, Holgate, Cranie, Nyatanga, John, Pearson, Hourihane, Scowen, O’Sullivan, Winnall, Waring

Subs: Dibble, Smith, Berry, Ibehre, Hemmings, Bailey, Lalkovic