White Rose Way to close after agreement reached over bridge works

Tom Ley sent us this picture of the new bridge being lifted into place on White Rose Way on Christmas Eve.
Tom Ley sent us this picture of the new bridge being lifted into place on White Rose Way on Christmas Eve.

WHITE Rose Way is to be closed from tonight to allow for major bridge works to take place.

Doncaster Council and Network Rail have reached an agreement after plans to install six beams over the East Coast Mainline over Christmas failed because of high winds.

A series of road and railway closures are due to be in force from 9pm tonight.

Provisional dates for the work to take place are:

9pm on Saturday, January 7, until 8am on Sunday, January 8

9pm on Monday, January 9, until 6am on Tuesday, January 10

9pm on Saturday, January 14, until 8am on Sunday, January 15

9pm on Saturday, January 21, until 8am on Sunday, January 22

9pm on Saturday, January, 28, until 8am on Sunday, January 29

9pm on Saturday, February 4, until 8am on Sunday, February 5

The new bridge which will run over the railway line is part of the first phase of a £27 million scheme to create a dual carriageway from the M18 into Doncaster.