Rock legends Asia announce 30th anniversaty tour

Rock band Asia.

Rock band Asia.

0
Have your say

ASIA, featuring the original line up of Geoff Downes (keyboards), Steve Howe (guitar), Carl Palmer (drums) and John Wetton (bass, lead vocals) will release a new studio album entitled “XXX” on Monday July 2.

The new album dovetails the news of the band’s upcoming 30th Anniversary World Tour and the collectors’ edition of their eponymous debut album.

Planet Rock will launch an exclusive 48-hour ticket pre-sale for ASIA’s UK-leg of the 30th Anniversary tour at 9am on Wednesday April 25. Fans can order their tickets from. Planet Rock From Friday April 27, tickets will go on sale to the general public from the 24 Hour Ticket Hotline: 0844 478 0898, The gig Cartel

ASIA will play the following UK concerts in December 2012:

Tavistock The Wharf Saturday 15 December

Holmfirth Picturedrome Sunday 16 December

Edinburgh Queen’s Hall Monday 17 December

Salisbury City Hall Wednesday 19 December

Birmingham Town Hall Thursday 20 December

Manchester Royal Northern College of Music Friday 21 December London o2 Shepherds Bush Empire Saturday 22 December

Thirty years after its eponymous debut album, ASIA ascended to the top of the Billboard Top 100 chart (where the album remained No.1 for nine consecutive weeks). The new album, “XXX”, is produced by Mike Paxman, and features a stunning front cover illustration by the legendary Roger Dean. “XXX” has been hailed as ASIA’s best album since their classic early 80s releases. The album will be released on CD, collector’s edition CD/DVD (featuring new music videos and behind the scenes footage), and on a limited edition vinyl.

The first single taken from the new album is entitled Face On The Bridge, will be released digitally worldwide on Monday May 14. “We wanted to recapture the energy of the first album,” says ASIA’s guitarist, Steve Howe. “ASIA has always been about great songs, fantastic musicianship and I am sure fans of the first album, will fall in love with XXX.”